Hi, I'm Ben, a tutor based in Clapham, London.

I teach English from 13+ to A-Level standard, and Maths from 13+ to GCSE.

I've tutored professionally for the last six years, working with some of the best agencies in London as well as with private clients.

I really believe in the power of tutoring to boost a young student's confidence and help them find their potential.

Please get in touch if you have any questions, I will be more than happy to help.


My first experience of teaching was in a classroom setting, teaching English as a foreign language, in the UK and abroad in Italy and Vietnam. This really informed how I approach my tutoring, providing me with many techniques designed to keep students engaged and active in lessons.

As a tutor, I have worked with students of all different abilities, helping some to push for A*/Level 9 grades, and others to raise their grade from a fail to a pass.

This experience has given me a great awareness of the areas that different students find difficult, and the best ways of tackling these specific problems. When taking on a new student, my first task is to assess their current level and the style of teaching that will most benefit them.

I then tailor my lesson around their needs, to make sure they are engaged and motivated by the subject. My lessons are always personalised on an individual basis, and I'm constantly looking for new and innovative methods of teaching, to find the best way of connecting with each individual student. I think that this original and personal approach has helped my students to achieve highly at school and for their exams.

Please see the links below for some of the organisations I've worked with, and to view my tutoring profiles online.

Education and Qualifications

More details:

University of Edinburgh

English Literature - Undergraduate MA with Honours (2:1)

St. Giles Highgate

Cambridge CELTA
(Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults)

King's College School

International Baccalaureate:

Higher Level:English
Standard Level:History of Art
Total Score:42/45


Additional Maths A
Drama A*
English A*
English Literature A
French A*
History A*
Italian A*
Latin A*
Maths IGCSE A*
RS Short Course A
Science Double Award A*A*

Enhanced DBS Certificate (updated annually)

Interests and Hobbies